Selfish, Shallow, and Self-Absorbed: Sixteen Writers on the Decision Not to Have Kids [ebook] by Meghan Daum (epub/mobi)

One of the main topics of cultural conversation during the last decade was the supposed “fertility crisis,” and whether modern women could figure out a way to way to have it all—a successful, demanding career and the required 2.3 children—before their biological clock stopped ticking. Now, however, conversation has turned to whether it’s necessary to have it all (see Anne-Marie Slaughter) or, perhaps more controversial, whether children are really a requirement for a fulfilling life. The idea that some women and men prefer not to have children is often met with sharp criticism and incredulity by the public and mainstream media.


In this provocative and controversial collection of essays, curated by writer Meghan Daum, thirteen acclaimed female writers explain why they have chosen to eschew motherhood. Contributors include Lionel Shriver, Sigrid Nunez, Kate Christensen, Elliott Holt, Geoff Dyer, and Tim Kreider, among others, who will give a unique perspective on the overwhelming cultural pressure of parenthood.

This collection makes a smart and passionate case for why parenthood is not the only path to a happy, productive life, and takes our parent-centric, kid-fixated, baby-bump-patrolling culture to task in the process. In this book, that shadowy faction known as the childless-by-choice comes out into the light.

For readers of Brigid Schulte and Debora Spar

Shallow conversation-changers are nowhere to be found in this searing collection. (The Huffington Post)

Oftentimes hilarious and heartbreaking, and riddled throughout with truth. (Minda Honey Los Angeles Review of Books)

The most recent and high-profile addition to the developing canon of writing by childfree women on their lives–and recommended reading for anyone who wants fascinating, thrilling, and occasionally frustrating insight into the lives of the childfree. (Bustle)

You can also donate via my bank account:
Pham Minh Tuan
Acc. Number: 185 649 009
Asia Commercial Bank (ACB)

Branch: Le Van Sy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.